Visit the Legendary Paris Catacombs with our Deluxe France English speaking guide and discover the history of this mystery.
Dating back to the XVIII century, the Innocents Cemetery near the St. Eustache church in The Halles commercial area had become a focus of infection to the neighbors of the quarter. Having received many complaints, the State Council pronounced the suppression and eviction of this ancient graveyard. All the burial-ground’s bones were transferred to the underground quarries of Paris, which had already been adapted to become the new municipal cemetery. Between 1786 and 1814 these pits were the resting site of bones coming from every Parisian cemetery. After being in intensive masonry works, the Paris Catacombs opened their doors for public visits in 2005, becoming once again, an attraction of the legendary Paris for tourists and locals.